Alumni Recognized for Excellence in Teaching

Four Belhaven University graduates have been recognized for excellence in the classroom: Emily Hemans ’08, Pete Hynum ’02, Sharon Hoye ’09, and Brett Mayfield ’07. These Belhaven alumni were all recognized for their contributions in classrooms across Mississippi.

Hemans, who graduated from Belhaven with a Master of Education, was selected as Rankin County Teacher of the Year, and she will be their representative as a candidate for the State of Mississippi Teacher of the Year. Hynum, who graduated from Belhaven as an Elementary Education major, is the Brandon Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Hoye, a Master of Education graduate, has been chosen as the Forest Municipal School District Teacher of the Year. Mayfield, a Master of Arts in Teaching graduate who teaches at Madison Central High School, has been recognized as one of twelve outstanding teachers in the metro honored by the Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership’s metro Teacher Recognition Program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *